How to Study

22 Nov

Resources:

How to calculate CPC: http://publipage.com/blog/online-advertising/how-to-determine-cost-per-click-in-adwords

http://webanalysis.blogspot.ca/2012/01/cost-of-advertising-cpm-ecpm-and-cpc.html

Friends with Benefits, chapter 2-6 in particular

These slides will be helpful to review:

Self-quiz for CPC

Imagine you’re running an online advertising campaign promoting a bestselling novel.  The goal is 2,000 orders. The cost of the book is $29.99. You’ve spent $5,000 on ads. Your ads have received 400,000 impressions and generated 200 orders to date.

  • Goal is 2,000 orders
  • Cost of book is $29.99
  • Spent $5,000 on ads
  • Ads get 400,000 impressions (impression means times the ad is seen)
  • Sales is 200 orders

What is the ecommerce conversion rate for orders? (200 / 400,000) * 100 = 0.05%
Ecommerce conversion rate means of all the people who saw the ad, what percentage of those people ordered books.

What is the net income this ad campaign generated (total revenue minus cost of ads) ?

Total Revenue = $29.99 * 200 = $5,998
$5,998 – $5,000 = $998.00 

If the ads have 400,000 impressions and 10,000 clicks, that’s a 2.5% conversion rate.
(10,000 / 400,000) * 100 = 2.5%

If you’ve spend $5,000 on ads and got 10,000 clicks, that’s a CPC of $0.50.

Review OPEN Brand, Part III

According to Mooney and Rollins, there are four types of consumer experiences that brands need to focus on in order to open up and participate in the social web: engaging, networked, on-demand, and personal experiences:

  • The on-demand experience is about efficiency, ease, control, findability, and instantaneousness. This includes things like on-site search, store-locator features, and RSS feeds.

  • The personal experience is about acknowledgement, dialogue, customization, privilege, and popularity. This includes things like a helpful Contact Us page, individualized recommendations, and surveys.

  • The engaging experience is about participation, belonging, immersion, entertainment, and inspiration. This includes things like video and blogs, contests, and other sharable content.

  • The networked experience is about self-expression, ego gratification, portability, community and meaningful change. This includes things like ratings and reviews, crowdsourcing and consumer-generated content.

While all four characteristics are important for a brand to be open, brands tend to emphasize one or two experiences, based on their goals and consumer expectations.

Readings & Assignments

This is not a comprehensive list of what to study but it’s certainly where I’d focus my time and attention.

Image

How to Google Like a Pro

22 Nov

google-pro

How to Use That Tool

15 Nov

Today’s scenario game.

  1. Send up a group member to pick a book
  2. Review the book with the group
  3. Underline the keyword phrases
  4. Identify the selling points of the book (so what, why now, hooks)
  5. Sum up the book in a tweet
  6. Answer: who is the audience for the book
  7. Answer: how would you promote this title using the assigned tool?

After the break, present your title (5 min)

Marketing Roles, SEO & Assignment

8 Nov

REMINDER: Draft 2 of your plan is due Nov 15 at 5pm. It should include an update to your outreach assignment. You’ll receive 2 separate marks (one for the plan, one for the outreach component).

Outreach Assignment – 10%
Part A: Thinking about Long Gone Man and Cocktail Culture, what existing stories are covered on this topic or author? List 3 and provide headline, 1st paragraph, talking points and URL

Make a list of the top 3 keyword phrases included in these articles.

Part B: Revisit your list of 5 media and bloggers to pitch. How would you revise your pitch angle to be newsworthy? Updated your 5 pitch angles.

Submit both components as part of Sentence 5 in Draft 2 on Nov 15.

Components of a Press Release

1 Nov

PRESS RELEASE ASSIGNMENT – 10% due Nov 6, 5 pm

  • Read the sample pitch letter
  • Identify the 3 goals of the press release (what outcome does 49thShelf want from the release?) What KPIs should they have tracked?
  • What news publications or blogs covered this story? List 5 and provide the headline they used,  1st paragraph and URL. Which “talking points” did the coverage include?
  • Make a list of 5 keyword phrases included in these articles that also appear in the pitch

NOTE: In this exercise you are simply copying and pasting the headline and 1st paragraph—you are not writing a headline and first paragraph. You are providing the URL so I can quickly visit the article to confirm you have identified the relevant talking points.

Review & Questions

25 Oct

 

Review and examples of tweets, email subject lines, pitch letters and marketing plan questions.

Google Analytics & What the Data Can Tell You

18 Oct
Key Takeaways:
For your marketing plans, think about ABC metrics (acquisition, behaviour and conversions).
  • How will you acquire visitors, attendees, etc.
  • What do you want those people to do, what behaviours should they exhibit?
  • And what are your goals, what conversions are you tracking.
Make sure your Goals are specific and measurable. Estimate the number of event attendees, or sales, or project an increase, for example, “see a 25% increase in Facebook fans”.
Know how to calculate Conversion Rate, Click Through Rate and other common marketing calculations.
SELF-QUIZ (and for those of you who missed last week’s quiz, send your answer to me as an email. 

Imagine you’re running an online advertising campaign promoting a bestselling novel.  The goal is 2,000 pre-orders. The cost of the book is $29.99. You’ve spent $5,000 on ads. Your ads have received 400,000 impressions and generated 200 pre-orders to date.

What is the conversion rate for pre-orders from this ad campaign?

What is the net income (total revenue – expenses) this ad campaign generated?

Readings

Boxcar Marketing, “Measuring Your Social Media Marketing: KPIs for Product & Brand Awareness,” http://www.boxcarmarketing.com/blog/item/measuring-your-social-media-marketing-kpis-for-product-brand-awareness/

Boxcar Marketing, “Internet Marketing: How To Measure Success,” http://www.boxcarmarketing.com/blog/item/internet-marketing-how-to-measure-success/

Also check the Schedule for any readings you might have missed. https://pub355.wordpress.com/schedule/

Assignment: 

Draft 1 of the marketing plan is due Oct 25 at 5 pm.

Please use this worksheet: http://bit.ly/7Sentence-Pub355W

11 Oct

Pitch Letter Assignment — 10%
DUE 5 pm Wed, Oct 16

Pitch 1 of the 2 titles to me as a blogger.
Review the persona worksheet you created previously 
http://bit.ly/persona-worksheet

a) Imagine you are working for TouchWood Editions. Pitch this title to Monique at SoMisguided.com. Imagine I do not already know about this book, but have written about a previous title in the series or by the author or on this topic. Your goal is to get me to review the book. Include a proper email subject line.

b) Provide a list of 5 other Canadian literary bloggers or media who you’d pitch. Include their website, URL and 1 sentence about how you’d pitch them, what’s the angle? Why is the title a good fit for their blog, program, publication, etc?

Readings Related to the Pitch Letter Assignment

Darren Barefoot and Julie Szabo, Friends with Benefits

  • Chapter 3: Flagging a Ride: Finding the Right Bloggers and Communities, 47-61.
  • Chapter 4: Netiquette: Miss Manners for the Web, 63-78.
  • Chapter 5: Stick Out Your Thumb: Devising Your Pitch, 79-97.

Also review the Marketing Plan worksheet and bring any questions to class next week: http://bit.ly/7Sentence-Pub355W

Upcoming Assignment: Online Marketing Plan — 15%
DUE Oct 25. 2-4 Pages

Choose 1 of the 2 titles and write a marketing plan for a holiday promotion.

In general: You want to get coverage for the book online and offline; you want sales.

Figure out who audience is for the book in order to figure out what marketing activities are best.
This is draft 1.

In draft 2, you’ll
• Include your Persona worksheet (revise as needed)
• Provide examples (Pitch letter, tweets, ads, etc).
• Provide a grid view

Please use this worksheet: http://bit.ly/7Sentence-Pub355W

Quiz

4 Oct

Thanks for completing your quizzes today. For next class, we’ll be starting to develop marketing plans for Long Gone Man and Cocktail Culture. Please review the book descriptions and author bios for these titles so you’re familiar with the books and authors.

If you have not submitted your peer review, please do so.

See you next week. (There are no readings for this week.)

 

UPDATE: Quiz Answers

1. Name one of the authors of the Cluetrain Manifesto (1 pt):

Chris Locke, Doc Searls, David Weinberger 
and Rick Levine

 

2. When was it written (1/2 point)?

1999

 

3. How many Theses are there (1/2 point)?

95

 

4. The first Theses is one of the most important – what is it? (1 pt)

  1. Markets are conversations
  2. Members of a community communicate in a natural, open, honest, direct manner. They make jokes. They take things seriously. They are genuine.
  3. Most companies do not know how to talk in this voice. “Your call is important to us.”
  4. Genuine conversation cannot be faked.

 

5. The Cluetrain Manifesto and OPEN Brand say that markets shouldn’t be treated as demographic sectors. True or False? (1 pt)

 

6. According to the Cluetrain Manifesto, markets make buying decisions by talking amongst each other. True or false? (1 pt)

 

7. The Cluetrain states that although people are more connected this doesn’t mean that they are any more powerful or organized. True or False? (1 pt)

8. The Cluetrain Manifesto and OPEN Brand encourage companies to spend time developing mission statements and marketing pitches. True or false? (1 pt)

 

9. What does the Cluetrain Manifesto and OPEN Brand say about marketing? (1 pt)

  1. Advertising is still one of the best marketing tools.
  2. With the internet, marketing requires more effort.
  3. Markets want companies to be authentic and transparent. 

 

10. What can marketers learn from the Cluetrain Manifesto and OPEN Brand? (1 pt)

  1. Spend more time studying your markets’ demographics.
  2. Spend more time joining and getting to know the community.
  3. Spend more time developing your marketing message.

 

11. What does OPEN stand for? (1 pt)

On-demand, personal, engaging, networked

  

12. Name 2 characteristics of the worldview of Closed Brands. (2 pt)

Target Consumers

Monologue

Awareness

Push

Scripted Communication

Request, Periodic Feedback

Created by Marketers

Brand Management

  

13. Name 2 characteristics of the worldview of OPEN Brands(2 pt)

Foster Community

Dialogue

Engagement

Pull

Transparent Communication

24/7 Feedback, Input-Focused

Co-Created with Consumers

Brand Stewardship

 

14. What are the 5 revolutions in social history that Clay Shirky refers to in the video about Here Comes Everybody? (Hint: 5 pieces of technology that changed our social history) (2 pt)

The introduction of the printing press (changes reading and writing)

The telegraph and the telephone (changes communication)

Recorded media (changes music, records, radio)

The harnessing of broadcast media (changes how we view images & sound)

The internet revolution

 

15. What is unique about the Internet Revolution? (2 pt)

The Internet Revolution is a combination of the 4 previous revolutions.

Printing Press: The web brings us Movable Type, WordPress, Blogspot, LiveJournal. Digital printing presses allow anyone to become a publisher.

Phone: VOIP, voice over internet protocol, allows for companies like Skype to bring us telephone and teleconferencing.

Recorded Media: MP3s, RealPlayer and others brought streaming audio, podcasts and peer-to-peer file sharing.

Broadcast Media: The web is images, video, text and sound.

  

16. What are the examples Shirky provides for Sharing, Conversation, Collaboration and Collective Action. (2 pt)

Freedom of the Press, Freedom of Speech & Freedom of Assembly

Sharing: Delicious and social bookmarking is an eg. of how we do something for ourselves that benefits the group. Tagging allows us to organize. Bronze Beta is another example.

Conversation: HDR photos and how tools like Flickr mean techniques that used to take 7 years to move into the hands of the masses now take 3 months. Groups get better together through comments, and tags.

Collaboration: Aequisub, Japanese anime captioning, and Wikipedia are egs of individuals synching with a group.

Collective Action: The hardest to get going. The fate of the group is more important than that of individuals. Protests. Flash mobs. Airline passenger bill of rights.

(Any plausible examples from the film are acceptable.)

 

Readings for Oct 4

27 Sep

Read Before October 4